Deliberate Deceptions

Proverbs 26:18-19
People who shrug off deliberate deceptions,
saying, “I didn’t mean it, I was only joking,”
Are worse than careless campers
who walk away from smoldering campfires.

Good Morning!

I read the all of Proverbs 26 this morning & was amazed at what I saw. I was told by a lady mentor & Pastor that I should read a Proverb a day. I did & learned so much. This year I was told to read the Message Bible instead of what I had been reading to get more insight. To my surprise it is very insightful! It gave me even more to thing about.

The verses above really stuck with me this morning. If someone says they are only joking & didn’t mean it that IS a deliberate deception.

That was the icing on the cake with many thoughts I was having this morning. I don’t know about you but when someone says they are just kidding/ I didn’t mean it to me. I feel hurt & angry.

When the negative feelings arise within you the person making the comments notices & all of a sudden they think you are the problem. Oh, you can’t take a joke can you they say or something like that. There are times that has happened to me & I walk away feeling almost guilty even though I know I did no wrong. While the other person feels they have done no wrong & they don’t have the problem I do. I would have after thoughts like I so want to just tell them off! What a jerk! Why did they say that? I suppress what was said & done along with all my feelings. So wait a minute here. Now I am deceiving myself by repeating what was done to me! Reality smack! That is one of my biggest challenges. Holding something in when I know I did no wrong & am being wrongly accused even though I was not the one running my mouth. Tough stuff! The verse above is so true. When we suppress the issue & leave it undone it is a smoldering fire waiting to ignite. It is left unattended. It says that is worse than a careless camper who walks away from a smoldering fire. Wow! I thought that is dangerous!

So if I shrug off a deliberate deception that is worse! That tells me a lot more then what I usually allow myself to think about a situation like that. Not good & must be dealt with. Even if I am the only willing participant it must be done. I can only control me, myself & I.

Words that are spoken or even unspoken are very powerful and they matter. They are alive. We get disturb by such words because it is deliberate & wrong. Careless words have the power to kill & destroy self confidence, love, trust, harmony & so on. We must love ourselves enough to take care of ourselves by dealing with our thoughts, feelings & actions that may need to be taken. Sometimes that means tough love & sometimes it may mean tears along with some vulnerability. All situations & circumstances are not the same. I don’t think there is some formula 1 2 3 its done. But, I do believe that God says the truth is what sets us free & we can be free indeed. That means facing it & through ally dealing with it. Not shrugging it off like it is no big deal & pretending all is well. Lies & deception are a big deal. With God’s “WORD” we can defeat anything & everything if we are willing. His words are powerful. He says they are more powerful than a two edged sword. That has the power to put out all the smoldering thoughts & feelings. If we care enough about ourselves we will tell those that hurt us when it hurts. By doing that we are teaching them how to treat us. Actually whether we do or don’t we are teaching them how to treat us. They both are hard but one has more rewards than the other. Our choice! Mountain experience continue being the victim or choose victory & be victorious!

That power is ours through Him, Christ Jesus! Amen!

Happy Tuesday to YOU!!!!

